Poetry Aloud (and a little Mozart!)

As you know I have been posting occasional poems on this blog for a while and various friends have asked to hear me read them. In particular they would like to hear the Advent Sonnets read aloud. I intend to record those in the next day or two and I hope, with the help of one of our choristers, to let you hear the antiphons themselves sung in plain chant, so watch this space.

I am using an excellent service called Audioboo. Which I hope you can play from this page So to try things out, here is a poem of mine about listening to music called Mozart at Greenbelt, you should be able to play it by clicking on the play symbol below.I have also printed out the text of the poem. If the play button doesnt appear then click on the title of the poem:

Mozart at Greenbelt

We lie upon the grass on God’s good earth
and listen to the Requiem’s intense,
long, love-laden keening, calling forth
echoes of Eden, blessing every sense
with brimming blisses, every death with birth,
until all passion passes into praise.

I bless the winding paths that brought us here,
I bless this day, distinct amidst our days,
I bless the light, the music-laden air,
I bless the interweaving of our ways,
the lifting of the burdens that we bear,
I bless the broken body that we share

Sanctus the heart, Sanctus the spirit cries,
Sanctus the flesh in every touch replies

7 Comments

Filed under imagination, literature, Music, Poems

7 responses to “Poetry Aloud (and a little Mozart!)

  1. Gorgeous. Thank you, Malcolm. The recording was clear and beautiful. This was the poem which, when I saw it in RADIX, prompted me to write to the editor and verify that it was, indeed, you, and to reconnect with you. What a happy accident.

    • malcolmguite

      oh, so it was, nice to be reminded of that. I’m glad to have got this working, though at the moment im having to set this aside and meet two ‘missed’ publishers deadlines for some commentaries on scripture. as ever i have overpromised!

  2. We didn’t get to hear it at Bag End this year so I’m wondering if I could request “A Renewal of Wedding Vows” read aloud. It is one of my favorites. :-)

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Poetry Aloud (and a little Mozart!) | Malcolm Guite -- Topsy.com

  4. Deanna Christian

    beautiful poem, rich voice, lovely — just lovely

Leave a Reply

