The Stations; a postscript-The Wedding; a prelude

Willows by Alexandra Drysdale

Easter Monday is a day for looking back and looking forward; back to the drama of Holy Week and Easter, Forward to the new life, in the coming spring and summer, that those events make posssible. Here in England the focus will suddenly swing from the festivities of Easter to the Royal Wedding on Friday, more of that shortly.
First I’d like to thank my readers, and especially my new readers who have been following me through my sonnet sequence on the stations. I hope you found them helpful and will feel free to return to them, even outside this ‘holy season’. If you wish to use them in liturgy or church events please feel free to do so, though if you could put a link to this site that would be great. Many people have asked me if they will be printed and the answer is yes. I am planning a book together with the artist Alexandra Drysdale who has done a moving series of pastel drawings of the stations. We did a joint event on Saturday here in Cambridge and the plan for a book with her pastels and my sonnets was born there, as soon as we have a publisher and publication date sorted I will let everyone know. I am lucky to know a group of very fine visual artists here in Cambridge and I also have another collaboration planned with the artist Rebecca Merry, centred on a series of poems I am writing on the four elements, so watch this space. I have been thinking alot about the visual arts recently, partly in preparation for a conference of CIVA, (Christians in the visual arts) at which I will be speaking in LA this June. For the first of my reflections on this theme see their blog here.

May by Rebecca Merry

Manwhile in England our thoughts are turning to the Royal Wedding. There is of course some sneering and cynicism in our media as there always is about anything that still has some grace and beauty about it or echoes of a more ancient and numinous world view. In my view marriage is more than just a social bond or convention, it is also a sacrament, a touching-place where the risen Lord Jesus breathes his being and his renewing power into our ordinary lives, and I look forward to seeing Rowan Williams enact that sacrament and give us all as a nation a chance to renew our vision of what marriage is about, another glimpse of George Herbert’s ‘heaven in ordinary’. By way of prelude and run up to the event I am going to post, (with Maggie’s permission!) some of the poems I have written for her over the twenty seven years of our marriage, chosen because they are also poems about marriage itself. So we will start tomorrow with a poem I wrote for our wedding day and conclude on Friday with a poem about renewing Marriage vows. I hope you enjoy them.

1 Comment

Filed under Current affairs, imagination, paintings

One response to “The Stations; a postscript-The Wedding; a prelude

  1. Barbara Japenga

    Malcom, Thank you so much for the meditations on the station of the Cross, for the poetry ( I am new to your blog and recently used “What If” to great effect with my supervision group – it took us quickly to a deeper level of sharing) and now a sane and thoughtful response to the “Wedding!” Yes, I will be sharing your insights with those here who think its a gaudy show…looking forward to the poems also. We have met through the Mattsons at various C.S. Lewis conferences and Jean suggested I join your blog. I’ll looking forward to saying hello at this summer’s conference in England. Blessings to you and your family, Barbara Japenga

Leave a Reply

