What I’m doing next!

Photo by Lancia Smith

Photo by Lancia Smith

GK Chesterton famously sent a telegram to his wife saying. ‘AM IN MARKET HARBOROUGH. WHERE SHOULD I BE?’

I empathise with both GKC and the long-suffering Frances as I too am often muddled, befuddled, and as like as not double-booked, when I come to look at my diary. In an attempt to straighten things out I have just gone through my commitments, as far as I can remember them, for the next year, and have discovered that I am indeed in Market Harborough in June, and in between, and beyond in all kinds of places on both sides of the Atlantic. I would be delighted to see, and to meet up with readers of this blog at any (or all) of the events/readings/retreats which I have discovered (sometimes to my great surprise) in my diary. so here they all are, as far as I know them, do join me at one or two of them if you can.

Here is a list of my forthcoming events including gigs, poetry readings, conference talks and retreats, as far as I know them, from May 2014-March 2015, more to be added soon

May 24th: I will be leading, and speaking at the annual Little Gidding Pilgrimage. Details will appear on the Friends of LG Events Page

May 30-th to June 1st: I will be reading at the Bloxham Literary Festival

June 6th: Charity Gig with Mystery Train at The Manor Barn Harlton 8pm

June 18th  I will be doing a poetry reading as part of a Quartet of Poets at Girton College FDR 8pm All Welcome

June 28th ‘Songs and Sonnets’ at Market Harborough Methodist Church from 2:30pm

July 22nd-25th: I will be a speaker and resident poet at Kindlingsfest on Orcas Island

July 28th-31st: I will be speaking at the CS Lewis Foundation’s Oxbridge conference, here in Cambridge

August 13-15th I will be a plenary speaker at the George MacDonald and the Victorian roots of Modern Fantasy conference in Oxford

September 1st-25th I will be Artist in Residence at Duke Divinity School, Duke University North Carolina. This residency will include A Public Reading, a Public Lecture and a concert in the Sean’s Singer-Songwriter series -more details to follow.

October 1st-November 20th: I will be a visiting fellow at St. John College Durham and will be doing various readings and lectures, at the College and the Cathedral more details to follow.

October 23-26th I will be leading an artists’ retreat at Laity Lodge in Texas, details here

December 12-14th I will be leading an Advent Retreat at Launde Abbey all welcome

March 14th 2015: I lead a day of prayer at Westminster Abbey, titled ‘Read Poems as Prayers’; praying through the poetry of George Herbert and Seamus Heaney’

March 23rd-27th: I will be ‘Visionary in Residence’ at Biola University Centre for Christianity culture and the Arts in Los Angeles. this residency will include poetry readings, performances and workshops, a concert with Steve Bell and a public lecture on Faith and the Arts. More details to follow.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Theology and Arts

9 responses to “What I’m doing next!

  1. nice post, busy but always welcoming! good luck with it all Malcolm

    • malcolmguite

      Thanks, I just hope it can all fit in around the usual college and church things. though Luckily I am on sabbatical from both those jobs sept-dec!

  2. Good luck with all the events there! If you’re in India some time, I would love to introduce you to some lovely poets here 🙂

  3. I wish I could attend that last one with you and Steve Bell! Peace and blessings to you Malcolm as you bless others through these events.
    Diana

  4. lanciaesmith

    Lovely update, Malcolm! And happily for me I think I will be at 3 of those events. 🙂 Peter and I will be praying for you in all those places of being and giving for you.

    • malcolmguite

      Thanks Lancia, I asked TCS to acknowledge your fabulous photo which they did in the print version but not online. I have not forgotten our Singing bowl interview and when I finally come to the other end of the long St. edwards emergency (nearly there!) I shall return to it!

  5. Pat Conneen

    We’re hoping for Kindlingfest and, ardent groupies that we are, will hopefully be at Biola for all that you bring. Eastertide blessing to you, Maggie and kids.

  6. It looks like you have some free time in the middle of July to take your wife on a little holiday to Normandy where I will be for a few days. I am from AB, Canada, and none of these sites are otherwise particularly close for me!

Leave a Reply

