I Am With You Always

JesusTeaching2I am working on a new sequence of sonnets, called Parable and Paradox, responding to the sayings of Jesus, and I have come to the end of Matthew’s Gospel and the last words of Jesus to his disciples as he sends them out to the four corners of the earth to make disciples of every nation

And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.’ (Matt 28:20)

It seemed to me that these final words actually linked back to and fulfilled the promise that was given in the Naming of Jesus, that he should be called ‘Emmanuel’, God with us, and that was the starting point of this sonnet.

As always you can hear me read the poem by clicking on the title or the ‘play’ button. Parable and Paradox will be published by Canterbury Press in 2016.

I will be with you

 

Your final words fulfill your ancient name,

A promise hidden in Emmanuel,

A promise that can never fade or fail:

I will be with you till the end of time;

I will be with you when you scale the height

And with you when you fall to earth again,

With you when you flourish in the light,

And with you through the shadow and the pain.

Our God with us, you leave and yet remain

Risen and hidden with us everywhere;

Hidden and flowing in the wine we share,

Broken and hidden in the growing grain.

Be with us till we know we are forgiven

Be with us here till we’re with you in heaven.

6 Comments

Filed under christianity, Poems

6 responses to “I Am With You Always

  1. Keith Morrison

    Hi Malcolm,
    Thank you for this, it really resonates with those here at the hospice and I hope will be helpful to those who find themselves in the dark valley and wondering where God is. Keith

  2. Thank you, Malcolm. That’s a very consoling sonnet.

  3. Oh, my. That throw back to Emmanuel. Why haven’t I thought of that before?

  4. Pat Conneen

    Thanks for the preview. I needed this today.

  5. That is one of my studies, and one of my pet mysteries. Not the promise that we would always feel the presence, but the promise that the love is always there. Hard as it is to believe sometimes.

  6. Deirdre Bryant

    Who is it who said,
    ‘Scratch a paradox and find truth’?

Leave a Reply

