I Am the Light of the World

it shimmers through the living leaves of summer

it shimmers through the living leaves of summer

‘Light’ is the theme for this years twenty-first anniversary National Poetry Day, which falls today, so I thought I’d share my sonnet on Jesus’ saying ‘I Am the Light of the World’. This is one of a sequence on the seven ‘I Am’ sayings in John’s Gospel which will itself be part of a longer series on the sayings of Jesus called ‘Parable and Paradox’ to be published by Canterbury Press next year. The opening lines of the poem are an allusion to a famous saying of CS Lewis, which is now carved on his memorial in Poet’s Corner:

 “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen. Not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”

The final couplet develops the motif of turning upstream towards Christ as the source of the river of light and life, an image I first used in my sonnet Pilgrimage, in Memory of Kate Gross and which is drawn partly from St. John of the Cross’s beautiful poem ‘ Although it is the Night’

As always you can hear me read the poem by clicking on the title or the ‘play’ button.

I Am the Light of the World

“I am the light of the world; he who follows Me shall not walk in the darkness, but shall have the light of life.” John 8:12

 

I see your world in light that shines behind me,

Lit by a sun whose rays I cannot see,

The smallest gleam of light still seems to find me

Or find the child who’s hiding deep inside me.

I see your light reflected in the water,

Or kindled suddenly in someone’s eyes,

It shimmers through the living leaves of summer,

Or spills from silver veins in leaden skies,

It gathers in the candles at our vespers

It concentrates in tiny drops of dew

At times it sings for joy, at times it whispers,

But all the time it calls me back to you.

I follow you upstream through this dark night

My saviour, source, and spring, my life and light.

The Lewis memorial in Westminster Abbey

The Lewis memorial in Westminster Abbey

1 Comment

Filed under christianity, imagination, Poems

One response to “I Am the Light of the World

  1. so much what I needed today, Malcolm. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

