Living As If

14690853_10210342338610802_3494339584139052586_nTomorrow (Wednesday 12th of October) I shall be doing a poetry reading at St. Edward’s Church in Cambridge from my new book Parable and Paradox, and I thought I would share here a sonnet that I have come to realise is fairly central to the whole collection. As I wrote the fifty sonnets on the sayings of Jesus I came to realise how often he appeals to our imagination, asks us to imagine what it would be like if things were done on earth as if in heaven, as if the kingdom had come, asks us to treat each other now as if we already saw each other in the glory of heaven, asks us to live now and practically from the depths of a generous love that most of us can only imagine. These thoughts came into focus in this sonnet, ‘As If’, when I came to realise the other side of the equation; that in Christ God already treats us as if we were saints, already loves and cherishes us as if we were already home in heaven. And the ourt being loved already is what enables us to love in return, in the here and now.

As always you can hear me read the poem by pressing the play button or clicking on the title. but do also come and hear me read it live at St. Edwards at 7:30pm tomorrow

As If

 

Matthew 5:42 Give to him that asketh thee, and from him that would borrow of thee turn not thou away. 

 

The Giver of all gifts asks me to give!

The Fountain from which every good thing flows,

The Life who spends himself that all might live,

The Root whence every bud and blossom grows,

Calls me, as if I knew no limitation,

As if I focused all his hidden force,

To be creative with his new creation,

To find my flow in him, my living source,

To live as if I had no fear of losing,

To spend as if I had no need to earn,

To turn my cheek as if it felt no bruising,

To lend as if I needed no return,

As if my debts and sins were all forgiven,

As if I too could body forth his Heaven.

10 Comments

Filed under literature, Poems

10 responses to “Living As If

  1. Cameron Anderson

    Malcolm,

    I will be meditating and praying “As If.”

    Grateful, Cam

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Still treasure the time spent at The Glen, listening as you explained poetry so well, as never experienced before. Ministering to my empty heart. Thought you should know. Would love to have been nearby to attend. All the best, J

  3. Zoe Myers

    This is the true north for our relationship in Christ and with everyone else. Thank you for this reminder – that I need daily, nay, hourly.

  4. Jim Hinshaw

    Thank you. Poem builds and bursts forth like the lyrics of a popular American Country song: I used to think God was like an architect, but now he’s like a pipebomb ready to blow…https://youtu.be/ZtgPeNKpnyw

    Grace and Peace

  5. frances schluter

    thank you for the reminder. it’s one of those days that i feel like i have nothing left to offer.

  6. Pingback: “Mark My Word!” (Jesus) | lylemook.com

Leave a Reply

