On Christmas Eve: Theotokos, A Sonnet for Mary

The Theotokos of vladimirChristmas Eve seems a good time to remember the one who bore our saviour for us, Mary, full of grace.

Mary has been given many titles down the ages and some Christians have disagreed with one another bitterly about her. But equally, in every age and every church she has been, for many Christians, a sign of hope and an inspiration. In a strange way, which I will write about in another post, she was a sign of hope to me even before I was a Christian, and it was something numinous and beautiful in the paintings and poetry she has inspired that helped lead me to her Son.

Her earliest ‘title’, agreed throughout the church in the first centuries of our faith, before the divisions of East and West, Catholic and Protestant, was Theotokos, which means God-Bearer. she is the prime God-Bearer, bearing for us in time the One who was begotten in eternity, and every Christian after her seeks to become in some small way a God-bearer, one whose ‘yes’ to God means that Christ is made alive and fruitful in the world through our flesh and our daily lives, is  born and given to another.

So here is my sonnet for her. I have taken a small liberty with one of Dante’s finest lines, when through the eyes of St. Bernard, he gives us a glimpse of her in heaven.

This poem has been included in the service booklet of this year’s Carols from Kings. You can download that booklet here. It is also published in my  book Sounding the Seasons; Seventy Sonnets for the Christian Year, Published by Canterbury Press and also available on these pages from Amazon UK and Amazon USA

As always you can hear the poem by clicking the ‘play’ button if it appears, or clicking on the title.

Theotokos

You bore for me the One who came to bless

And bear for all and make the broken whole.

You heard His call and in your open ‘yes’

You spoke aloud for every living soul.

Oh gracious Lady, child of your own child,

Whose mother-love still calls the child in me,

Call me again, for I am lost, and  wild

Waves suround me now. On this dark sea

Shine as a star and call me to the shore.

Open the door that all my sins would close

And hold me in your garden. Let me share

The prayer that folds the petals of the Rose.

Enfold me too in Love’s last mystery

And bring me to the One you bore for me.

festival-nine-lessons-2014

3 Comments

Filed under christianity, Poems

3 responses to “On Christmas Eve: Theotokos, A Sonnet for Mary

  1. shandryss

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Pingback: On Christmas Eve: Theotokos, A Sonnet for Mary | SONNET

  3. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Things {February 2017} | The Trotter Family

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.