I am the Vine; a sonnet

How might it feel to be part of the vine?

How might it feel to be part of the vine?

Continuing in my series offering some glimpses from my forthcoming book Parable and Paradox, here is the last in a sequence of seven sonnets on the ‘I M’ sayings in John’s gospel. this one is on one of my favourites ‘I Am the Vine, ye are the branches’.

Parable and Paradox is available to order on Amazon here and in the USA and will be available from May 30th

As always you can hear me read the poem by clicking on the title or the play button

 

I Am the Vine

 

John 15:5 I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

 

How might it feel to be part of the vine?

Not just to see the vineyard from afar

Or even pluck the clusters, press the wine,

But to be grafted in, to feel the stir

Of inward sap that rises from our root,

Himself deep planted in the ground of Love,

To feel a leaf unfold a tender shoot,

As tendrils curled unfurl, as branches give

A little to the swelling of the grape,

In gradual perfection, round and full,

To bear within oneself the joy and hope

Of God’s good vintage, till it’s ripe and whole.

What might it mean to bide and to abide

In such rich love as makes the poor heart glad?

Parable and Paradox hi res

11 Comments

Filed under Poems

11 responses to “I am the Vine; a sonnet

  1. Patricia Conneen

    Thank you so much, Malcolm. A pregnant poem if ever there was one. p. >

  2. Gosh, there are references here that I can link into my MA dissertation … if I can pull it off 🙂

  3. Richard King

    Thank you Richard

  4. David Thomson

    Your bishop is about to sin gravely and steal the phrase “God’s good vintage” for regular future use. Great sonnet on a very special passage of scripture. Roots, Shoots, Fruits!

  5. I love the way you get right inside the subject on a spiritual as well as a material level … brings freshness to such a rich deep concept.

  6. Pingback: Trying to listen to God | Andrea Skevington

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.