Waiting on the Word: Advent Poetry

Waiting on the Word

Waiting on the Word

Tomorrow will be the first Sunday of Advent, so I thought I would repost this link to my Advent anthology Waiting on the Word. This Anthology which offers the reader a poem a day throughout Advent and on through Christmas and Epiphany. I also offer a little reflective essay to go with each poem, which I hope will help the reader to get into the depths of the poem more easily and will draw out some of the Advent Themes and the way the poems link to each other. The book works entirely as a stand-alone thing and could be used privately or in groups, but I shall also be recording each poem and will post a recording of my reading of that day’s poem for each day of Advent on this blog, so that readers of the book who wish to, can also hear the poem being read. Readers of this blog can of course also enjoy hearing the poems, and might like to get hold of the book (which is also on Kindle) so that they can follow along the text and read the interpretive essay.

Last year we enjoyed the poetry accompanied by Lancia Smith’s interpretive photographs, this year, continuing that tradition of art to accompany poetry, I am happy to say that we will have an original painting to accompany each poem from the talented Linda Richardson, who created a book of images to reflect on each poem whilst she was using the book devotionally last year, and has kindly agreed to share those pictures with us this year. Do join us on the journey via the pages of the book and the pages of this blog.

Malcolm

6 Comments

Filed under christianity, literature, Theology and Arts

6 responses to “Waiting on the Word: Advent Poetry

  1. Dr. Carroll Smith

    Father Guite,

    May I post this on the Charlotte Mason Institute’s Facebook page and send it out in an email to the Mason community?

    Thank you,

    Carroll Smith J. Carroll Smith, EdD Founder and Program Director director@charlottemasoninstitute.com

    >

  2. Malcolm, my dear friend Kimberlee first told me about this book last year but we were too far into the season. It is now open on my desk and I’m finding rich truth already. Your work is such a gift.

  3. Pingback: Advent - making ready & keeping company | Lancia E. Smith

  4. Pingback: For “Mother Culture” | Offerings

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.