A Year of ‘Poet’s Corner’ and a new book!


As some readers of this blog may already know, I have been writing a weekly column for the Church Times called Poet’s Corner, and I have just completed my first full year in that role. Its been quite an adventure. I was more than a little daunted to begin with as I was following in the footsteps of the great Ronald Blythe, one of the finest writers of our day and something of a national treasure. His weekly column ‘The Word From Wormingford’ had been running on the back page of the Church Times for over twenty years, and in some senses he was an impossible act to follow. We had some things in common of course; a love of George Herbert and Thomas Traherne, a delight in the English countryside, a feel for the small, particular beauties of the local Parish, understood both as common ground and common prayer, but I could never, in any sense be him, or replace him. Happily all his columns are also gathered into a beautiful series of little books published by Canterbury Press. However, over the year I have been given permission to be myself, to spread my wings a little and to share my observations, my joys, and such small insights as have come my way. I am happy to say that Canterbury Press have liked what they’ve seen so far and have proposed to publish a collection of these fugitive pieces which will come out as a little book in November. Meantime, if you’d like to sample a few the Church Times have set up a page with the links handily gathered together which you can find Here

I’ve also picked out some you might enjoy as a sampler:

Here’s one about pausing on a morning walk with my two dogs and being entranced by a single raindrop:

Here’s one about my love of books and the sense of literary kinship and communion:

and here’s one about feeling the truth of Gray’s Elegy, as I too paused at dusk in a country churchyard

I hope you enjoy these and I’ll keep you posted about the book when I have a publication date (and a title!)

13 Comments

Filed under imagination

13 responses to “A Year of ‘Poet’s Corner’ and a new book!

  1. While recognising Blythe’s wizardry with words, he never spoke to my spirit as your writing does, Malcolm. Please go on being yourself.

  2. Pam Southam

    Congratulations! That’s great news, Malcolm.

  3. Julie Armstrong

    Well done, good and faithful servant.

  4. Sarah Hillman

    I think you have been a very worthy successor to Ronald Blythe

  5. Sally Brodhurst

    Delighted to hear this! Look forward to getting the collection in November – just in time to make good Christmas presents for friends!

    I keep your Sounding the Seasons and Parables and Paradoxes by my bed and go back again and again to the sonnets. Thank you for them.

    Kind regards,

    Sally Brodhurst

  6. Marcia Whitney-Schenck

    Wonderful opportunity (From Chicago)

  7. Margaret Mcelhinny

    Dear Malcolm

    I am delighted that your first year of “Poet’s Corner “ is to be published as a book at the end of the year. I was given a copy of “Words from Wormingford” many years ago and since then have collected a large number of Ronald Blythe’s work. The books stand next to yours on my bookshelf! All most treasured and frequently read. With very best wishes, Margaret

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. lanciaesmith

    Malcolm,

    I think you will not find it too surprising for me to tell you I’ve adored these posts. A little gathering of them will doubtless one of my favourite gifts to give this Christmas! Thank you for every beautiful word.

    Every blessing and grace to you, friend.

    L.

    Lancia E. Smith Founder & Editor-in-Chief *​Cultivating​ *&

    The Cultivating Project e: lancia@thecultivatingproject.com w: http://www.thecultivatingproject.com

    . . . .

    *Cultivating the Good, the True, and the Beautiful *

    On Wed, May 23, 2018 at 11:43 AM, Malcolm Guite wrote:

    > malcolmguite posted: ” As some readers of this blog may already know, I > have been writing a weekly column for the Church Times called Poet’s > Corner, and I have just completed my first full year in that role. Its been > quite an adventure. I was more than a little daunted to beg” >

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.