Come to the Launch of Waiting on the Word

Waiting on the Word

I am happy to announce that my new book Waiting On The Word is published by Canterbury Press this coming Monday. It is a companion volume to ‘The Word in the Wilderness’, my anthology of poetry for Lent, Holy Week and Easter, so if you enjoyed that I hope you will enjoy this. Waiting on the Word gives you a poem, and an opening out and reflection on that poem for every day from Advent Sunday, through to Christmas and beyond to the feast of Epiphany and the coming of the Wise Men.

Advent is to Christmas what Lent is to Easter, but sadly Advent has been swallowed up in the rush, the busyness and pressure to consume that dominate the Christmas Season. This book offers you the chance to step back and set a little time, about five minutes, each day to awaken your soul and kindle your imagination to prepare for and contemplate the great and joyful mystery which Christmas celebrates. I have chosen great poems from the past, by poets like Christina Rosetti, George Herbert, and Edmund Spenser, but I have also included some wonderful poems by distinguished contemporary poets like Scott Cairns and Luci Shaw. I have also included some of my own poems, some which may be familiar, like my sonnets on the Advent Antiphons, and some which are entirely new and have not been published before. After each poem I have written a brief reflection to help readers appreciate the depths of the poem itself and also to offer some thoughts and meditations on what it means to read that poem in our own day and age. I hope you enjoy it.

To launch the book into the world there will be a free event at Otley Hall, the beautiful, but easily accessible Elizabethan moated grange in Suffolk, and I would be glad if any readers of this blog could join me there for wine and cheese, some readings from the book and from my other poems, and a chance to meet and chat, and, if you wish, to buy a signed copy at a discount. Full details are below. For those who cannot make this event I have also listed below the other events between now and Advent at which you will be able to hear me read and buy a copy of the book. The book will of course also be available, from the end of this month, from the Publisher, Canterbury, from Amazon, and to order from your local Bookshop. I will be posting some little extracts from the book on this blog over the course of September and October.

You are invited to the Launch of

Waiting on the Word

an anthology of poems and reflections for

Advent, Christmas and Epiphany

At Otley Hall, Hall Lane, Otley, Ipswich, IP6 9PA

Thursday September 3rd, 6:30-8pm

This free event will include poetry readings, refreshments, and an opportunity to by signed copies at a discount

Contact Events@otleyhall.co.uk for bookings and further details

Otley Hall

Otley Hall

Further events:

Friday 23rd of October 4pm Poetry reading at Sarum College Bookshop

Saturday 5th of December An Advent reflective afternoon with poems from Waiting on the Word starts 2pm at St. George’s Church, Hatley St. George

Sunday 6th December 12:30 ‘Sunday Forum’ at St. Paul’s Cathedral

an introduction to and readings from Waiting on the Word

8 Comments

Filed under imagination

8 responses to “Come to the Launch of Waiting on the Word

  1. Thank you for the invite, Malcolm, and what a nice thought to open it up to readers of your blog; much appreciated! As I live on the other side of the country I won’t be coming to your launch, but wish you all the best with it and hope you have a lovely event.

  2. Sonia Falaschi-Ray

    So sorry, I shall be abroad. I hope it goes really well. Can I buy a couple of your Green Man CDs? I could come by Linton tomorrow (Thurs) afternoon. Much love to you and Maggie Sonia

    Sonia Falaschi-Ray sonia@falaschi-ray.co.uk

    >

  3. M, congrats! Beautiful cover, too. (I tried to comment on Words with Friends but I don’t think the chat is working properly.)

    Which poem of mine did you end up choosing? I’d like to mention that when I share it on FB…

    As ever, H

  4. Rita banfield

    Every blessing for the new book launch today

  5. I would love to be there tomorrow, but two meetings back to back in Bury st Edmunds will prevent me. Gamlingay in November ought to be manageable though.
    Stella, Stowmarket

  6. Pingback: Come to the Launch of Waiting on the Word | somos1blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.